• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
About the Duplex 420: a review
Folks, I've been using a porty for HWE for a few years and have done pretty well.  Encapping was not very effective for me until I stumbled over this forum and read several hundred posts.  In the process, you guys convinced me that encapping works if done right.  So, using my 175, I tried again on a few jobs and it worked very well.

As you know good equipment makes all the difference.  So I began thinking about what to get on my limited budget.  The counter-rotating brush (CRB) looked like a logical choice, as it could be used to encap and pre-scrub for the porty when needed.  But which machine?

I wanted the BrushEncap machine, but just didn't have the shekels.  However, on Craigslist I found a Duplex 420 like ES sells, for about $600.  Figuring it was too good to pass up, I got it.  Now, the Duplex has the ability to recover liquid and damp debris, which struck me as an advantage.  It does not recover dry debris, which would make it tough to comb pet hair out of a carpet before cleaning.  In addition, it is a hefty beast and not easily carried.  Finally, it has two plastic tanks and a plastic lid, all of which need to be babied to prevent breaking. Give some, get some, right?