This message board has been upgraded to a new forum with a number of user improvements.
You are currently viewing archived posts from the original EncapBoard (2002-2012).
Please visit the NEW EncapBoard carpet cleaning forum at http://Forum.Excellent-Supply.com to join an active online community for commercial carpet cleaning.

RETURN TO INDEX  

Rick - Follow Up Concerning Propane Burnisher

August 28 2011 at 6:35 PM
Randy Beckner  

Rick,

A few days ago, I inquired about the Avenger and unfortunately you indicated that this equipment was not available any longer. I have been cleaning carpet, tile/grout and VCT for many years and I am accustomed to using propane strippers, buffers and burnishers. Therefore, I understand your original excitment about the potential ability of the Avenger.

Now to my questions. I have a smaller 17" 5 hp propane burnisher that weights in at 80 lbs. Currently, the rpm range from slow to fast is 450 rpms to 100 rpms. I assume at that even the low speed range is still to high for encaping but do not know!

Secondly, if this 450 rpm is to fast, do you think that I could replace the pulleys and belt to gear down the speed? I noticed on the Avenger that you used a shurflow pump and shot cleaner out the front like a spray borg. Is this the only method if I attempt to down gear my burnisher or could I put a small solution tank on the burnisher and gravity feed the solution to the shower feed pad driver??

Thanks in advancefor your input!!

Randy

AuthorReply

Rick Gelinas

Re: Rick - Follow Up Concerning Propane Burnisher

August 29 2011, 4:10 AM 

Hey Randy,

You have one of the old 17" Pioneer buffers? I thought I had one of the only ones in existence. Those things are now museum material. I bought one in the mid 80's. Used it on lots of small convenient stores we were servicing at the time.