• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
175 and residential carpet
I have been cleaning commercial carpet with my 175 for a couple of years. My truck mount recently died and I am wondering about the viability of using my 175 in residential. I would like to hear from people who have done it. Pads or Bonnets on cut pile nylon? I am just interested in experience with a rotary not Cimex, oscillating equipment or CRB.

Yes, I could research it but time is of the essence-- got a call last night.

Thanks to all in advance.
  Reply   Purge Spammer
It can be done.

I know it's not what you're asking for, but I would highly recommend a CRB or Orbital. I know of successful residential companies using CRB machines only, or orbital machines only. There are far fewer making a go of it with rotary only. But hey, ChemDry did it for years with rotary bonnet cleaning, so it can be done.
Thanks Rick for your quick reply. I know it to be good information. I was wanting to make the switch to commercial only but I still have some residential clients. I have taken a 40hr a week position to fill in the gaps and will pursue the commercial end. I like the bigger checks.
  Reply   Purge Spammer
I use 17" 175 with white floor pad. Make sure you have a soultion tank mounted on 175. Get the pad wet before cleaning. Never a problem with any carpet. I also have a portable for back up hwe which you will need at some time. If you come across urine you better have HWE. I scrub every carpet no matter how clean or dirty it is. Encap Punch is good for residential.
Charles, thanks for the reply. I have white pads and a mounted solution tank. I always pull the solution first with a new or dry pad. Good to be reminded. I don't have a portable for back up. I am okay walking away from urine/feces contamination at this point.
  Reply   Purge Spammer