• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
confused....
Ok i am confused - who is cleaning residential carpets with VLM rather than HWE?

I am just getting started and don't have a truck mount, just a portable, but i would really like to just do VLM.
I understand that the situation dictates method such as pet urine is HWE, but can i clean residential carpets with VLM using a 175 with scrub brush and then bonnet?

I read on here some guys moving away from their truck mount more and more on residential. I would like to do commercial more and more but right now getting started my first customers are residential and i want to do a good job for them but having a portable is definately a drawback especially when you have to do an upstairs.

Any thougts or suggestions?

Thanks!
I have used a portable on residential and for me it was brutal. I never quite got a good system down as far as dealing with all the hoses, filling, dumping, cords (2 cords in separate outlets if a heated unit) etc,.. up and down stairs...maybe I'm lazy?? but too much non productive work there for me.
VLM on residential is fairly simple once you settle on the type of equipment you are comfortable with and what works well for you. I have zero experience with a 175 so I can't comment on its effectiveness first hand.
What I use is an OP machine with cotton, cotton/poly blend or micro fiber pads with scrub strips. along with good cleaning agents like E.S. Hydrox or Punch, both work very well with Hydrox being more suited to light colored carpets.
For a simple and effective setup, OP machine-(Challenger, Oreck Lowboy, Orbitec defender) many others available, and some cotton/poly pads and a good vac. 2 pump up sprayers, 2 5 gal buckets ( one for hot water and clean pads- one for dirty pads, some clean white terry cloth towels, a grandi groom rake....and your off and running.