• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
upholstery cleaning
Hello everyone......I'm a newbie and looking for some advice. I bought the Gecko because I want to do some upholstery cleaning and would like to practice on my own furniture first. Any suggestions on proven successful methods I can use? Should I scrub with a brush before trying out the machine? Thank you in advance Shy
  Reply   Purge Spammer
Hwe Works better
Residential upholstery we usually clean with HWE. However, that varies depending on the material. Commercial upholstery however we have had real good success with a drill, pad driver, and fiber plus pads. We spray a 50/50 mix of Encap-Clean DS on the upholstery and then agitate with the fiber plus pads. This of course is after a pre-vac. This works well for us most of the time on office furniture which is usually synthetic.
A Smith, The Gecko is a portable extraction "spotter" from Excellent Supply? If so, you can Vacuum, use Releasit Ds, or Hydrox from E.S. as a prespray, agitate with a soft brush and let dwell 10 minutes, then use your gecko to extract using hot tap water (soft water is better).
It is important to evenly wet the upholstery as you go as to avoid water "rings" on the fabric. Don't leave untouched dry areas. Unless you have very expensive fabrics, this should work fine. It works for me.
Getting to know the fabric codes located on the tag under the cushions will help too.
Mike Becker
All-Dry Cleaning Services
Carpet Cleaning Mendota, IL
MikeB is right on the money!
Regarding HWE_
I also recommend fans to reduce drying times on upholstery, I have a couple studebakers that flat out move air, and can get the fabric pretty dry upon completion. I use the hydromaster dri-master- great tool that cleans with a blade of water.