• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
new to the business
Hello - i am rather new to carpet cleaning and looking to grow my business more into VLM. I have a portable but it is a drag to set all of it up, get in and out of vehicle, clean upstairs due to hose lengths, hook up to water, etc. Basically i don't have the money for a truckmount! haha.

I have done a couple VLM type jobs, i have a good vac, a 175 with carpet brush, and a small CRB machine. I need to get some bonnets and want to try Releaseit products. I do believe that good chemicals are a major part of a good cleaning.

Question to you all - when talking to my wife and telling her about VLM, she says from her perspective as a housewife, she feels better with steam cleaning because it is like rinsing and vacuuming all the nasty germs and dirt out of the carpet and VLM to her doesn't sound like it does that. Basically she thinks where does the dirt and germs go? They aren't getting killed by steam and sucked out with the large TM in the driveway?

How do i/you explain to a customer who thinks like this the benefits of VLM vs. HWE?
I am sure there are probably several posts that answer this so if someone wants to just point me to those to read through it would be great.

Thanks guys and appreciate the forum.
Go under blog section on excellent supply website there is a comparison of encap and hwe. Probably not all that you want to hear for residential but a fair comparison. I used hwe for 12 years and now used encap most of the time. I prefer encap with cimex now over hwe and so do my commercial clients. As far as residential I believe it takes a crb machine and an op machine to get good results. It takes some traing and research to get great results and there are many great people on this forum to help.
I believe this is the EncapBlog post that Rob is referring to...

http://www.excellent-supply.com/Comparin..._b_10.html